April 28, 2024, 05:57:25 AM

Author Topic: West Plains, MO (aka Podunkville) Weather  (Read 3268 times)

Offline Jonathan

• View Profile
    • Jonathan Thornton
  • Cable Provider: Dish Network
  • HD Channel #: 214
  • SD Channel #: 214
  • WxStar Version: Satellite
West Plains, MO (aka Podunkville) Weather
« on: June 08, 2009, 01:07:31 PM »
I guess I'll hop on the wagon. I'm going to write this in my own words as if I were going to say it on camera. So, I'll do a little forecast along with the conditions.

It's 78 and sunny right now, but don't expect that to last through the day. Moisture is coming in from the Gulf and there's a cold front hanging over the Ozarks this week. Because of that, we have plenty of lift to get those thunderstorms going. In fact, there's a slight risk for severe storms today, so watch out!

I'm a bad writer. <_<

Offline Jonathan

• View Profile
    • Jonathan Thornton
Re: West Plains, MO (aka Podunkville) Weather
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 02:14:35 PM »
May 2009 data for West Plains...

Offline Jonathan

• View Profile
    • Jonathan Thornton
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 12:18:37 PM »
Yesterday, a tornado touched down in Mountain View, one of the adjacent communities to Podunkville (errr, I mean, West Plains). The tornado was reported around 6:45 P.M. moving across Highway 17. Debris was reported with the tornado. The tornado's strength is unknown at this time.

In other news, record rainfall was reported last night. The storm that blew through Podu- I mean, West Plains, dropped a total of 1.77 inches of rain, smashing the old record of 1.31 inches set in 1950.