April 28, 2024, 09:18:58 AM

Author Topic: The Front Porch  (Read 1770868 times)

Offline Jonathan

• View Profile
    • Jonathan Thornton
  • Cable Provider: Dish Network
  • HD Channel #: 214
  • SD Channel #: 214
  • WxStar Version: Satellite
Re: The Front Porch
« Reply #12360 on: July 07, 2010, 12:02:28 PM »
Hey everyone, I know I don't post much, if at all, but I've got a question.  You've all been (or still are) in elementary school/early junior high/middle school.  I'm an instructor at a local daycare, and we're doing a weather/seasons week soon.  My question is, do you all have any ideas of simple, inexpensive activities that relate to weather that I could do with the kids?  Thanks for your suggestions in advance!  PM me if there's an idea or few that you've got! 

PS:  the age range of the kids is 5 (kindergarten) through 12.
The classic Tornado in a bottle (when you attach two 2 liter bottles together) is always fun! I remember doing that in elementary school. Its a cheap and neat activity to try :)

My science teacher bought these things that screw the two bottles together...I think they're from Steve Spangler. No guarantees on its origin, but it's a lot less messy.

Offline Zach

• TV Tuner Enthusiast℠
  • Ultimate Member
    • View Profile
  • Cable Provider: Other
« Reply #12361 on: July 07, 2010, 12:53:30 PM »
What I did one time was take a 24 oz water bottle, fill 25% of the bottle with soap and the other 75% with water, shake it, turn it upside-down, and shake in rotation. (I know, it's complicated :P)
I've gone off on a journey to be a moderator at another forum, but this place will forever remain home for me~

Offline Trevor

• Ultimate Member
    • View Profile
  • Cable Provider: Xfinity
  • WxStar Version: IntelliStar
« Reply #12362 on: July 07, 2010, 01:36:54 PM »